Skip to main content

James Tredwell in MCC squad to face Yorkshire in Abu Dhabi

Thursday 18th February 2016

Men’s First Team

Kent spinner James Tredwell has been named in the MCC squad for the annual Champion County match in Abu Dhabi.

The four-day match is the annual curtain raiser for the English county season and begins on Sunday 20 March at the Sheikh Zayed Stadium.

Tredwell is joined by four England internationals: Warwickshire's Ian Bell and Rikki Clarke as well as Durham duo Scott Borthwick and Graham Onions.

Nottinghamshire’s Jake Ball and Essex bowler Tom Westley are also included having recently returned from England Lions duty in the UAE.

The match will take place under the MCC Spirit of Cricket Banner and, following a request from county champions Yorkshire, will be played in day conditions with a red ball.

Play will start at 10.30am and finish at 5.30pm local time (GMT+4).

The Champion County match will be preceded by the Emirates T20 tournament on Friday 18 March, for which Sri Lanka legend Kumar Sangakkara will be part of the MCC squad.

John Stephenson, MCC Head of Cricket, said: “We have put together a squad with a great mixture of youth and experience that are capable of challenging Yorkshire, and I’m sure it will be an engaging fixture for everyone involved.

"In Ian Bell, we have one of the best England cricketers of recent years, and there is plenty of international experience throughout the rest of the group – as well as a number of young players with the potential to play for England.

"I’m confident our squad can do MCC proud, put on a good performance and uphold the Spirit of Cricket throughout the tour.”

Full MCC squad for Champion County Tour:

Nick Browne(Essex), Rory Burns(Surrey), Scott Borthwick(Durham & England), Ian Bell(Warwickshire & England), Tom Westley(Essex), Ben Foakes (Surrey), Rikki Clarke(Warwickshire & England), James Harris*(Middlesex),James Tredwell(Kent & England),Jake Ball(Nottinghamshire), Graham Onions(Durham & England), Kumar Sangakkara**(Sri Lanka).

* Champion County squad only

** Emirates t20 squad only