Skip to main content

Kent beat T&T Red Force by five wickets

Sunday 29th January 2017

Men’s First Team

Career-best bowling from Ivan Thomas and Imran Qayyum and a Sean Dickson 50 helped Kent defeat reigning champions Trinidad and Tobago in the Caribbean Super 50 in Antigua.

The Spitfires recorded their first win on the FGS Plant Tour after skipper Sam Northeast won the toss and opted to field.

Tight new-ball bowling restricted the openers before West Indies white-ball opener Evin Lewis nicked a leg-stump delivery through to Adam Rouse for 11.

Darren Stevens came into the attack and struck twice Kjorn Ottley (caught behind) and Jason Mohammed (LBW) for ducks, using the crosswind to shape the ball away nicely.

Calum Haggett removed the dangerous Kyle Hope for 43 after a handy partnership with top-scorer Roshon Primus (60).

Qayyum was the most economical of the bowlers with 2/33 off ten overs and he bowled Primus after a 50 stand with Alexis before trapping Emrit LBW.

Thomas returned to pick up the wickets of Alexis (bowled for 28) and Dinesh Ramdin (caught spectacularly by Darren Stevens diving full stretch at mid-off).

Will Gidman bowled Ravi Rampaul in his first outing on the FGS Plant Tour and took a good catch to remove Imran Khan for Thomas’ fourth wicket to wrap up the innings for 193.

In reply, Sean Dickson’s second List A half-century in three matches for Kent was the catalyst in a 85-run stand with Daniel Bell-Drummond (35).

DBD was trapped LBW by legspinner Khan before Dickson holed out to Lewis at square leg for 56.

Stevens (43) and Northeast (31) smashed big sixes as they accelerated towards the target before falling to Rampaul.

Northeast was clean bowled before Stevens holed out for 43, enough to earn him the man-of-the-match award.

Rampaul had Gidman caught behind third ball before some clean striking from Alex Blake (22*) saw the Spitfires home with 13.5 overs to spare.


Next up for Kent is a match against Windward Islands at the Coolidge Cricket Ground on Tuesday (31 January, 5.30pm GMT).

Click here to buy 2017 match tickets