Kent League Round-Up: Bexley & T Wells head table

Tuesday 6th June 2023

Kent League Round-Up: Bexley & T Wells head table

Bexley Cricket Club, and Tunbridge Wells, are joint leaders of the Premier Division, in the Kent Cricket League, with 81 points apiece, after five matches, following their victories at the weekend.

Kent Spitfires will face Hampshire Hawks in a T20 showdown at The Spitfire Ground, St Lawrence – under the lights on a Friday night:

Buy tickets now

Last seasons champions Hayes, are bottom of the table with just 28 points.

There were some very close games in the Premier, Sandwich beating Sevenoaks Vine, by two runs, St Lawrence and Highland Court, winning by nine runs over Lordswood, Tunbridge Wells getting victory by 10 runs over Blackheath, whilst Holmesdale beat Minster by one wicket. Bexley got the better of Hayes by 26 runs.

In a thrilling finish, Sevenoaks Vine fell just short of their victory target, on 192 for 9 in their 50 overs, after Sandwich had been bowled out for 194 in 40.5 overs. For the home side Zak Fagg scored 65, Luke Schlemmer 3 for 25, Kent bowler, James Logan 2 for 5, Sahil Shah 2 for 43, Andrew Reid-Dick 2 for 30. Michael Cowdrey was 69 not out for Vine, as they just missed out, James Bazley 3 for 48, Jan Gray 2 for 33.

Former Kent all-rounder, Darren Stevens, scored a century for his club side, St Lawrence & Highland Court, in their 258 for 9, after visitors Lordswood, could only reach 249 for 9, in their innings in reply. Stevens 127 off 110 deliveries, included four sixes and 17 fours. Thando Ntini 3 for 44, Jack Laraman 2 for 60, Calum MacLeod 2 for 38. Ntini then went on to score 68 for the visitors, Ed Taylor 49, Stevens taking 3 for 15 in six overs, Oliver Curtiss 2 for 44, Kent bowler Matt Quinn 1 for 38.
Holmesdale won with three deliveries to spare, in their winning target 284 for 9, in reply to Minster (Sheppey) posting 281 for 9. Joe Parry hit 87, with eight fours and seven sixes for the home side, former Kent batter, James Hockley 56, Dom May 2 for 22. Ben Fawcitt was 42 not out, for the visitors, after James Poulson had made 73, Parry 3 for 35, Max Luckett 2 for 40.

Blackheath were bowled out for 241 at the Rectory Field, after Tunbridge Wells had scored 251 or 9 from their 50 overs, falling short of their target, despite an excellent century, 100 runs, with 12 boundaries and a six from Matt Golding, Jahid Ahmed 47, Alex Williams 3 for 45, Calvin Johnson 4 for 28. In the Wells innings, Williams had scored 47, Sam Smith 41, Jas Bassan 4 for 31, Tanweer Sikander 2 or 46.

Kent paceman, Jas Singh took 3 for 36 for Bexley, as they bowled Hayes out for 203 in 46.3 overs, with the visitors needing 230 to win, after the home side had made 229 for 7, Matt Stoddart 91 not out with eight fours, and a six, Scott Gallagher 2 for 47, Kent’s Alex Blake 2 for 44. In the Hayes innings Rory Low scored 83, with a six. and eight boundaries, Blake 64, Feddie Foster 2 for 45, Ahmad Jamal 2 for 48, Shaun Evans 2 for 22.

There was a shock result in the championship with bottom club OD CUACO beating division leaders Bickley Park, by 45 runs, Park on top now by just one point, from second placed Bromley, and the home side off the basement position. Pip Francis was 49 not out, Jacob Pienaar 44 in the home sides 248 for 8, Ranjit Singh 3 for 43, Michael Ridley 3 for 26. Park were then bowled out or 203 in 45.2 overs Safwaan Imitiaz 51, Dan Magin 49, James Batten 2 for 31, Chris Webster 2 for 33, Dan Webster 2 for 31.

Johan Malcolm scored 112 for Beckenham, in their 34 run victory away at Whitstable, his innings including six sixes, and 12 fours, in his sides 331 for 8, James Fear 42, Josh Lock 2 for 50, Scott Dale 2 for 69, Liam Tegg 2 for 45. Whitstable were all out for 297 in 48.5 overs, Harry Fulton 78, Byron Gould 43, Tom Phillis 44, Junaid Nadir 5 for 64, Malcolm 2 for 53.

Bromley beat Folkestone at home by 7 wickets, reaching their winning target 182 for 3 after the visitors had struggled to 178 for 9 from their 50 overs. Sam Hadfield was 87 not out for Bromley, Nick Bluett 44 not out, Nick Ward 2 for 9. Ward had been 34 not out in the visitors innings, Marcus Lilley 3 or 38.

Canterbury were defeated by four wickets, by The Mote, in their match at Polo Farm, with the home side 228 for 9, Duncan Moore 57, Matt Sadler 3 for 34, the visitors reaching a winning target 232 for 6 in 47.1 overs, Lewis Bedwell 42, Lewis White 2 for 31.

There was a big win by 70 runs, for Linden Park, away at Dartford, who could only make 220 for 7 from their 50 overs, after the visitors had posted 290 for 6.In the Dartford innings, Scott MacKechnie was 91 not out, Freddie Hulbert 2 for 30. Atif Khan had made 77 for Park, Graeme Francis 53, Ritchie Harley 2 for 50.

By Peter Burrowes

The Spitfires take on the Hawks this Friday

Kent Spitfires will face Hampshire Hawks in a T20 showdown at The Spitfire Ground, St Lawrence – under the lights on a Friday night:

Buy tickets now

We will be supporting The BeYou Project, in association with the Club’s Official Charity Partner, Porchlight, during this match.

Buy your T20 tickets now to save money, avoid disappointment & to lock in supporting your Spitfires during an exciting Summer of white-ball cricket!

Buy T20 tickets now

Members do not need to pre-book their space at T20 matches as per last season – entry will be gained by scanning a valid 2023 Kent Cricket Membership card at the gate.

Should seated areas such as the Frank Woolley Stand also sell-out, an allocation is set aside for Members & Six Pack Plus Ticket Holders.