Kent League Round-Up: Play at last for most Premier sides

Tuesday 16th May 2023

Kent League Round-Up: Play at last for most Premier sides

After a near complete washout during the first round of Kent Premier League matches last week, more cricket was has in the second week of this year’s competition.

Kent Spitfires’ T20 opener for 2023 is now NEXT WEEK, against Gloucestershire at The Spitfire Ground, St Lawrence in Canterbury. Entry to all scheduled T20 home matches is included in Kent Cricket Memberships, on sale now.

Buy T20 tickets now

Last season’s champions Hayes, lost by 45 runs away to Lordswood, despite a brilliant bowling performance from all-rounder, Will MacVicar. The home side were all out for 190, MacVicar taking 6 for 29. Former Kent Academy student and Second XI player, Joe Gordon 92. Hayes were then bundled out themselves for just 145, Garerth Severin, who made his Kent Second XI debut  last week, 39, Kent’s  Alex Blake 30. Former Kent Academy student, Hugh Scott, 4 for 17.

Former Kent all-rounder, Darren Stevens smashed an 81-ball century for his club side, St Lawrence and Highland Court, is his teams thrilling two-run victory at home to Blackheath, in the Kent Cricket League, Premier Division match.

The newly promoted side made 232 in 49.2 overs and then bowled their visitors out for 230. Stevens scored 101, with seven boundaries and seven sixes, his innings proving crucial for the home side. Michael Hales scored 41. Kent bowler, Arafat Bhuiyan 4 for 26, Jas Bassan 3 for 55. Although they came close to winning, Blackheath’s top scorer, Charlie Sid-Spellar, only made 38. Joe Payne 3 for 56, Oliver Curtiss  2 for 36, Jack Heuston 2 for 43.

Former Kent player, James Hockley, bowled Minster (Sheppey) to a 23 run victory at home to Sandwich, who were all out for 107 replying to their hosts 130 for 7. Hockley took 5 for 17, Rory Smith 28 not out, Ben Chapman 28. In the Minster innings, Joe Parry was 33 not out, overseas bowler, James Bazley 4 fpr 13.

Another former Kent player, Adam Ball took 3 for 11, in Bexley’s five wicket win away at Sevenoaks Vine, who were bowled out for just 95, Evert Bekker 30. Bexley knocked the winning runs off, 97 for 5, in 25.1 overs, their Australian overseas batter, Hugh Burden, 50 not out, Andrew Reid-Dick 3 for 27.

Alex Williams scored a century for Tunbridge Wells, 103, with six fours and seven sixes, in their 223 for 7 to set up a 67 run victory, away to Holmesdale, the home side all out for 156, Dom May 41, a highly impressive 6 for 33, from Liam McGroarty.

In the Championship Division there was an incredible bowling performance by Canterbury’s Tom Davis, who took six wickets for eight runs in 10 overs with five maidens, as OD CUACO crashed to 58 all out, the visitors winning by a massive 200 runs, after posting 258 for 6, Jarred Lysaught 71, Euan Munday 54, Lewis White 45 not out, Jacob Pienaar 3 for 28.

In a low scoring match Bromley were two wicket winners at home to Dartford, who were all out for 144, Marcus Lilley 4 for 31. Stan Greenleaf scored 40 as the home side reached a winning 146 for 8 in 39 overs, Kent Academy student, Barney Ford 3 for 42.

Folkestone lost at home by four wickets, to Beckenham, 217 all out despite a century 118, with 15 fours and a six from Stuart Graham, and 39 from former Kent all-rounder, James Tredwell, Saad Khan 3 for 25, Johan Malcolm 3 for 61. Kham was then 64 not out, and Malcolm made 42, as the visitors reached their target, 221 for 6, with two deliveries to spare.

There was a comfortable 66 run victory for Whitstable, away to The Mote, Maidstone Liam Tegg scored 75, and Bryan Gould 63. in their 236 for 9, Kent Academy scholar, Jaydn Denly 4 for 26, Liam Terry 3 for 42, as the home side were dismissed for 170, Tom Harvey 51.

Bickley Park were two wicket winners at home to Linden Park, who could only make 154, Prayag Bhati 80, Max Campbell 40, three wickets apiece for Jason Benn, Elliott Hooper, and Michael Ridley. Hooper then top scored for the Park, with 43, in their winning 158 for 8 , James Speer 3 for 21, Mathew White 2 for 7.

By Peter Burrowes

Buy your T20 tickets now to save money, avoid disappointment & to lock in supporting your Spitfires during an exciting Summer of white-ball cricket!

Buy T20 tickets now

Members do not need to pre-book their space at T20 matches as per last season – entry will be gained by scanning a valid 2023 Kent Cricket Membership card at the gate.

Should seated areas such as the Frank Woolley Stand also sell-out, an allocation is set aside for Members & Six Pack Plus Ticket Holders.