Kent League Round-Up: Tight at the top

Monday 26th June 2023

Kent League Round-Up: Tight at the top

The Premier Division of the Kent Cricket League is proving to be very competitive this season, with the lead changing hands week by week, as the clubs battle to be champions.

Kent Spitfires vs. Sussex Sharks is now completely SOLD OUT – thank you for your incredible support.

Kent Spitfires return to Beckenham this August! See the 2023 One Day Cup winners look to retain their title in two one-day clashes at The County Ground, Beckenham:

Buy One-Day Cup tickets now

With Lordswood losing  to Minster (Sheppey), Tunbridge Wells were able to regain top spot, even though they themselves were beaten in a high scoring encounter away at Bexley, but picked up enough points from the game for them to go ahead by two.

There were 599 runs scored at Manor Way, and Wells had two centurians in their innings of 298 for 7, from their 50 overs, but it wasn’t enough as the home side chased down a winning 301 for 9 total, in a thrilling one wicket win, with seven deliveries to spare. Chris Williams scored 104 for the visitors, with six sixes and eight boundaries, Sam Smith 109 with eight fours. Two wickets apiece for Shaun Evans, Harry Dowling and Ahmed Jamel. Bexley’s Australian overseas batter, Hugh Burden, scored 90 with a six and 10 fours, Aiden Griggs 75, and Matt Siddard 58, in the home sides victory chase, Matt Barker 2 for 55.

Previous leaders Lordswood, were bowled out for 194, when they visited Minster, Linden Lockhart 43, Calum MacLeod 84, Dan Masters 3 for 34, but an unbeaten century, exactly 100 not out, with 15 fours, and two sixes from Ed Moore, and 54 not out by Surrey batter, Laurie Evans, saw the home side to victory 197 for 2, and an eight wicket win.

Former Kent all-rounder Darren Stevens, was in prime form with the bat, for his club side St Lawrence and Highland Court, scoring a not out 129, but with just three boundaries, and two sixes, in his sides 273 for 9, Stuart Eddicott 3 for 59, as they gained a 19 run home win, over Hayes, who could only reach 254 for 8, from their 50 overs in reply, Kent Second Eleven batter, Gareth Severin 72, Finlay Baker, 55, Liam Buttery 42, Kent batter, Alex Blake 35, Jack Heuston 3 for 58.

Sandwich travelled to the Rectory Field, and were seven wicket winners over Blackheath, who made 217 in 49.3 overs, the visitors getting their victory target 220 for 3, thanks to a Ben Chapman century 113, with 14 fours and a six, Rory Smith 77 not out. In the Blackheath innings Ross Richardson 86, Tanweer Sikander 58, some brilliant bowling from the Sandwich captain, and former Kent Second Eleven player, Jan Gray, 7 for 39.

Bottom club Holmesdale, were crushed by 137 runs, at home to Sevenoaks Vine. They were bowled out for 114, replying to the visitors 251 for 8. Ollie Chaplin 30, Andrew Reid-Dick 4 for 30, Luke Schlemmer, three wickets for just five runs. Harry Bevan-Thomas hit 94 for The Vine, Kent’s James Logan 55, Dom May 5 for 40.

Bickley Park consolidated their position at the top of the Championship Division, with a convincing 125 run victory over The Mote. They scored 247 from their 50 overs, a century for wicket-keeper Safwaan Imitiaz, 114 with 16 boundaries, Michael Ridley 48, Matt Sadler 3 for 52. The Maidstone based side then all out for 122, Dylan De Villiers 39, Xavier Darroch 3 for 31, Elliott Hooper 4 for 23.

There was another century maker, Saad Khan 107, with a six and 15 boundaries, for Beckenham, in their 78 run victory at Bromley, 299 for 5, Alex Senn 45. The home side could only reach 221 for 9 from their 50 overs, Nick Bluett 42, James Mulla 43, James Butterfill 46, Johan Malcolm 3 for 37.

Jacob Pienaar hit 115, with nine sixes and eight boundaries, in OD CUACO’s 283 all out, in their 14 run win, at home to Folkestone, Andrew Ainger 45, Stuart Graham 3 for 49. The visitors all out 269, despite 123, with 20 fours from Eknoor Singh, two wickets each for Pienaar, Chris Webster and James Batten.

Canterbury won away by 26 runs against Dartford, at Hesketh Park, 250 for 9, Jarryd Taig 96, Jarred Lysaught 46, Kent Academy scholar, Ekansh Singh 4 for 58. In reply the home side 224 for 8 from their 50 overs, Elliott Algar 74. Lysaught, Tom Davis, Henry Smith, Lewis White, two wickets apiece.

Linden Park, enjoyed the seaside air, with a 15 run win at Whitstable, 272 all out from 49 overs, Matt White 96, Max Campbell 58, Liam Tegg 4 for 31. The home side 257 for 9 from their 50 overs in reply, falling short of their target, Sam Denly 79 not out, Henry Cross 41, James Speer 3 for 55.

By Peter Burrowes

Kent Spitfires return to Beckenham this August!

See the 2023 One Day Cup winners look to retain their title in two one-day clashes at The County Ground, Beckenham:

Buy tickets now