Skip to main content

Kent Spitfires name squad to face Glamorgan in Cardiff

Kent Spitfires have named an unchanged 12-man squad for the trip to Glamorgan on Tuesday (2pm) after rain washed out the opening Royal London One-Day Cup game at Tunbridge Wells on Sunday.

After reaching the semi-finals in 2014, head coach Jimmy Adams said: “Our players are a year older and wiser now, so to my mind there’s no reason why we shouldn’t be looking to do well in this competition.

“The guys have moved on from last year’s semi-final defeat against Warwickshire up at Edgbaston; the time for being stung by that result has passed, but it will still help to motivate us. The important thing is what we have all learned from it and the lessons we have taken from that entire tournament.

“In Twenty20, a game can slip away from you in the space of three overs but the players understand that over the course of 50 overs they will have more time and, with that time, more decisions to make for themselves.”

Kent Spitfires squad v Glamorgan:17. Sam Northeast (c), 23 Daniel Bell-Drummond, 6. Joe Denly, 30. Fabian Cowdrey, 3. Darren Stevens, 10. Alex Blake, 20. Sam Billings, 26. Matt Coles, 15. James Tredwell, 8. Mitch Claydon, 14. Matt Hunn, 5. Ivan Thomas.

Tuesday's match is televised live on Sky Sports Ashes and live commentary is available on BBC Radio Kent via the BBC Sport website.


• The Spitfires have won 10 of their last 15 completed home domestic List A games.

• Ben Harmison had the best average (18) and economy rate (4.26) of any Kent bowler to take 5 wickets or more in last year’s tournament.

• Sam Billings hit the most sixes last season (17) and was Kent’s only specialist batsman with a strike rate above 100.