Skip to main content

Kent Spitfires v Surrey, One-Day Cup, Beckenham (Sun, 11am)

Saturday 4th June 2016

Men’s First Team

Kent Spitfires start their Royal London One-Day Cup campaign against Surrey at The County Ground, Beckenham on Sunday (5 June, 11am).

In a re-match of last year’s quarter-final, the oldest rivalry in county cricket will be rekindled at Kent’s second home, just seven miles from the Kia Oval.

Click here for tickets to see Kent Spitfires

Kent will name a similar side to this week’s T20 Blast matches with Matt Hunn omitted and no fresh injury concerns as Mitch Claydon and Adam Riley remain unavailable with side strains.

New Zealand opener Tom Latham is in contention for his limited-overs debut for the Spitfires in the only potential change.

Kent Spitfires squad: 17 Sam Northeast, 6 Joe Denly, 23 Daniel Bell-Drummond, 58 Tom Latham, 3 Darren Stevens, 10 Alex Blake, 30 Fabian Cowdrey, 7 Sam Billings (w), 26 Matt Coles, 18 David Griffiths, 15 James Tredwell, 5 Ivan Thomas.

Surrey squad: Gareth Batty (capt), Zafar Ansari, James Burke, Rory Burns, Sam Curran, Tom Curran, Steven Davies, Ben Foakes, Stuart Meaker, Mathew Pillans, Jason Roy, Kumar Sangakkara, Dominic Sibley, Gary Wilson

Click here for tickets to see Kent Spitfires

Kent Spitfires v Surrey stats

o The previous three encounters in Kent between the Spitfires and Surrey have been lost by the toss-winning side.

o No chasing side has won any of the last six meetings between these teams (T1 L5).

o Kent Spitfires have won six of their previous eight home games (L2).

o Sam Billings accumulated 30 runs from sweep shots last season, the most of any player in the competition.