Skip to main content

Kent trio named in Women’s Ashes ODI squad

Monday 6th July 2015


Three of Kent's County Championship-winning squad were named inthe England Women’s Ashes squad for the Royal London One-Day International (ODI) squad to take on Australia as part of the Women's Ashes later this month.

Kent and England captain Charlotte Edwards will skipper the side, aiming to lead England to a third consecutive Women’s Ashes series victory this summer alongside county colleagues Lydia Greenway and Laura Marsh (pictured above, courtesy of Don Miles)

The 14 players, there are 807 ODI caps, with opener Edwards (185) and batsman Lydia Greenway (121) the most experienced members.

The three ODIs will take place on July 21, 23 and 26 and will be televised live on Sky Sports and broadcast on BBC Radio.

Following the trio of 50-over matches, the sides will meet in the showpiece Kia Women's Test at The Spitfire Ground, St Lawrence in Canterbury on August 11-14.Click here to buy tickets

Director of England Women’s Cricket Clare Connorsaid: “I don’t think it’s too dramatic a statement to say that the 2015 Women’s Ashes contest is possibly the most eagerly anticipated series in the history of international women’s cricket.

“The pace at which the women’s game is evolving at the moment is extraordinary. This summer for the first time ever, we will see two fully professional international women’s teams in action, with live broadcast coverage of every single ball, including the Kia Women’s Test match, on Sky Sports and BBC Radio.

"It is this level of exposure and support that will ensure that the women’s game continues to grow, and that will inspire women and girls everywhere to play the game.

“England’s 14-player squad named for the first three Royal London ODIs is one of real strength and demonstrates the depth of talent currently running through the England women’s performance programme."

The three Royal London ODIs will form England and Australia’s third round of fixtures in the ICC Women’s Championship, which will determine qualification for the 2017 ICC Women’s World Cup in England.

The 2015 series will be the third time that the Women’s Ashes have been contested across all three formats of the game – three ODIs, one Test and three T20Is – with two points available for a win in each of the ODIs and T20Is and four points up for grabs for the winner of the Test match. Two points will be awarded to each side in the event of a drawn Test.

England will be hoping to emulate their performances from the first two multi-format Women’s Ashes contests, having won twelve points to four on home soil in 2013 and ten points to eight Down Under in 2014.

England’s Women’s Ashes Test squad will be announced following the conclusion of the Royal London ODIs.

England Women’s Ashes ODI squad in full: Charlotte Edwards (Kent, captain), Katherine Brunt (Yorkshire), Kate Cross (Lancashire), Georgia Elwiss (Sussex), Lydia Greenway (Kent), Rebecca Grundy (Warwickshire), Jenny Gunn (Nottinghamshire), Amy Jones (Warwickshire), Heather Knight (Berkshire, vice-captain), Laura Marsh (Kent), Natalie Sciver (Surrey), Anya Shrubsole (Somerset), Sarah Taylor (Sussex), Lauren Winfield (Yorkshire).

Entry to the Women’s Ashes Kia Test on August 11-14 is included in Kent All Rounder and Championship Plus Memberships and is an option for Six Pack package holders.

Australia take on Englandat The Spitfire Ground, St Lawrencein the only Women's Ashes Test Match as part of an extended Canterbury Week this summer.

Click here to secure your 2015 Membership

Click here to buy tickets