Skip to main content

Kent v Glamorgan: Cowdrey, Haggett and Tredwell in squad

Saturday 9th May 2015

Men’s First Team

Kent have selected Fabian Cowdrey, Calum Haggett and James Tredwell for the home LV= County Championship match against Glamorgan at The Spitfire Ground, St Lawrence.

Both sides are in a search of their first win after draws this week and Kent make three changes ahead of the four-day match, starting on Sunday at 11am.

Vice-captain Sam Northeast will skipper the side in the absence of club captain Rob Key. Mitch Claydon and Adam Riley also sit out.

Head coach Jimmy Adams said: "Rob has elected to spend some time away from first-team cricket in order to focus on his batting.

"The team showed more consistency and character in the second half of the last game and we will be aiming to maintain and improve on this for this home fixture against Glamorgan."

Kent squad: 17 Sam Northeast (captain), 23 Daniel Bell-Drummond, 6 Joe Denly, 40 Brendan Nash, 30 Fabian Cowdrey, 3 Darren Stevens, 20 Sam Billings, 26 Matt Coles, 25 Calum Haggett, 14 Matt Hunn, 5 Ivan Thomas, 15 James Tredwell.

Glamorgan squad: 3 James Kettleborough, 4 Jacques Rudolph (captain), 22 Will Bragg, 41 Colin Ingram, 46 Chris Cooke, 18 Mark Wallace, 8 Graham Wagg, 14 David Lloyd, 44 Craig Meschede, 23 Dean Cosker, 21 Andrew Salter, 31 Michael Hogan

Click here to buy tickets

Match statistics

· Glamorgan have lost one of their last eight against Kent (won four, drawn three), after failing to win any of the preceding eight clashes (drawn four, lost four).

· Sam Northeast has hit four tons and five half-centuries in his last 17 Championship innings.

· Graham Wagg needs two wickets to reach 350 in first-class cricket; Dean Cosker needs five to reach 600.