Key on the list for Tuesday’s IPL auction

Monday 18th January 2010

Kent captain Rob Key (pictured) is among eight England players on the list for Tuesday’s 2010 Indian Premier League auction.

Key is joined by spin bowler Graeme Swann and batsman Jonathan Trott, who have both just finished playing in South Africa with the national side.

Other England players going under the hammer are Monty Panesar, Eoin Morgan, Mark Ramprakash and Yorkshire pair Anthony McGrath and Tim Bresnan.

Commenting on Key“s possible participation in the IPL, Kent“s team director Paul Farbrace said: “I’m delighted for Rob. Hopefully he will now get the chance to play in what is a fantastic cricket league. If he does get an opportunity then I’m sure he will show the world just how good he is and produce the impressive form that he has shown for Kent in the last four years.”

Players from world Twenty20 champions Pakistan, Australia and South Africa make up half the cricketers on offer for the tournament, starting in March.

Andrew Flintoff and Kevin Pietersen were the most expensive players in the 2009 IPL auction, but fees will this time be lower with franchises permitted to spend a maximum of $750,000 (£468,000) on players, as opposed to $2m last year.

All the players bought from the auction in Mumbai will be given a one-year contract, valid until 31 December, which will also cover a Champions League Twenty20 tournament later this year.

Full IPL player auction list:
England: Tim Bresnan, Eoin Morgan, Rob Key, Anthony McGrath, Monty Panesar, Mark Ramprakash, Graeme Swann, Jonathan Trott

Australia: Brad Haddin, Philip Hughes, Doug Bollinger, Ashley Noffke, Adam Voges, Luke Pomersbach, Clint McKay, Graham Manou, Ben Laughlin, Jason Krejza, Damien Martyn

Pakistan: Shahid Afridi, Misbah ul-Haq, Umar Gul, Imran Nazir, Rana Naved, Mohammad Aamer, Abdul Razzaq, Kamran Akmal, Umar Akmal, Saeed Ajmal, Sohail Tanvir

South Africa: Zander de Bruyn, Wayne Parnell, Tyron Henderson, Lonwabo Tsotsobe, Rory Kleinveldt, Yusuf Abdulla, Vernon Philander, Johan van der Wath, Vaughn van Jaarsveld, Morne van Vyk, Justin Kemp

Sri Lanka: Nuwan Kulasekara, Nuwan Zoysa, Upul Tharanga, Thissara Perera, Thilina Kandamby, Kaushalya Weeraratne, Chamara Welegedara, Chinthaka Jayasinghe, Chamara Silva

West Indies: Kieron Pollard, Ramnaresh Sarwan, Daren Ganga, Lendl Simmons, Darren Bravo, Wavell Hinds, Kemar Roach, Sulieman Benn

New Zealand: Grant Elliott, Lou Vincent, Shane Bond, Nathan McCullum

Zimbabwe: Murray Goodwin

Bangladesh: Shakib Al Hasan

Canada: Rizwan Cheema

Netherlands: Ryan ten Doeschate