Skip to main content

Linden Park skipper nominated for national award

Monday 28th September 2015

Men’s First Team

The captain of Kent League club Linden Park is among the stalwarts nominated in the annual NatWest Outstanding Service to Cricket Awards.

Stuart Clarke is the sole Kent nominee for one of twelve NatWest OSCAs will be presented in front of 400 guests at a prestigious event hosted by BBC Radio Test Match Special commentator Jonathan Agnew at Lord’s on Monday 12October.

Mr Clarke is on a three-man shortlist for the Get the Game On award as part of the ECB campaign to increase participation by ensuring the maximum number of games are completed.

The NatWest OSCAs were established in 2003 to reward cricket’s unsung heroes and recognise the contributions and efforts of grassroots volunteers from all over England and Wales.

The awards form an integral part of both NatWest and the ECB’s volunteering programmes which give cricket clubs advice on educating, recruiting and rewarding volunteers.

Hundreds of volunteers were nominated by clubs, leagues and county cricket boards nationwide and the final shortlist has been chosen by a panel of representatives from the ECB, British Gymnastics, RFU and NatWest.

Matt Dwyer, ECB’s Director of Participation and Growth, said: “The NatWest OSCAs are a great way to recognise and reward the outstanding contributions volunteers make to grassroots cricket every year.

"Volunteers are the unsung heroes of the recreational game and our clubs, leagues and Boards all rely on the countless hours they give to the sport each year.

"Congratulations to all our nominees and we trust they enjoy a memorable day at Lord’s – the Home of Cricket next month.”

Lee Bailey, NatWest Sponsorship Manager, said: “The NatWest OSCAs is an important part of our cricket calendar as it encourages us all to stop, recognise and appreciate just some of the army of hardworking and dedicated volunteers who make cricket possible in their communities.

"This year’s winners are all truly remarkable and selfless people without whom grassroots cricket would not be the wonderful game that we all enjoy today.”