Skip to main content

Mersham Sports wins Dyno Plumbing Kent T20 title

Saturday 19th September 2015

Mersham Sports defeated two-time winners Frindsbury in the final of the Dyno Plumbing Kent T20 title at The Spitfire Ground, St Lawrence.

Kyle McAlister’s 43 and Tom Butt’s 33 as Mersham posted 161.

In reply, Frindsbury slid to 21-5 and 36-6 before Mersham skipper Matt Fagg polished off the tail, taking 3-12 to secure a 59-run win.

The Ashford-based Kent Regional League Club celebrated lifting the trophy, presented by Kent head coach Jimmy Adams and Dyno Plumbing Kent Director Richard Read.

Dudgeon was the pick of the Frindsbury bowlers with 2-20 from four overs.

In the first semi-final, Roan and Lambethans won the toss and batted first, starting strongly with Shoaib and Gul adding 48 before Mersham fought back with the ball.

Darren Pugh (2-24) and Alan Stevens (3-16) took regular wickets to restrict Roan to 97 from 15 overs.

Ashley Cook hit 35 not out from 43 balls led the way after two early wickets from Edgar and Lewis before Pugh’s unbeaten 33 from 28 sealed a place in the final.

2014 champions Frindsbury reached the final with a thumping 65-run win against Shooters Hill.

Frindsbury never looked back after winning the toss with Josh Duane smashed 50 from 36 balls.

Pope’s 25 was the only resistance as Coyle and Seymour stuck three times each to dismiss Shooters for 70.

On Sunday, Bexley won the NatWest Kent U19 T20 title, defeating Old Wilsonians in the final.