Read all about the Alan Albury Awards

Friday 28th August 2009

The Alan Albury Awards for long service to cricket in Kent took place during the lunch interval on the first day of Kent“s LV County Championship match with Surrey at Canterbury.

The following ten people received a framed certificate to thank them for the loyal and dedicated service that they continue to show to grassroots cricket in the county. The former Kent and England great Derek Underwood, who is currently President of the MCC, carried out the presentation ceremony and rewarded the following ten people:

Wendy Betts – Tilmanstone Ravens Cricket Club
Julie Brown – Northbourne Cricket Club
Edric Churchley – Whitstable Cricket Club
David Mills – Sandwich Town Cricket Club
Christine Moys – Murston Cricket Club
David Roberts – HSBC Cricket Club
Roger Silk – Old Hartsdonians Cricket Club
Roy Smithers – Chevening Amblers Cricket Club
JP Tutt – RACS Cricket Club
Peter Watts – Smarden Cricket Club

Meanwhile the following people have been nominated for an Outstanding Service to Cricket Award (OSCA) in Kent.

Ian Forbes – Lifetime Achiever (Old Wilsonians)
Peter Robinson – Leagues and Boards (Addington CC)
Alan Cutts – Behind the Scenes (Tunbridge Wells CC)
Kevin and Julie Beaumont – Behind the Scenes (Sandwich Town CC)
David Tingley – Behind the Scenes (Borstal CC)
Graham Perryman – Behind the Scenes (Dartfordians CC)
Brian Baldock – Lifetime Achiever (Minster (Sheppey)
Steve Holness – All (Whitstable CC)

The following nominees have been selected and put forward for a national ECB OSCA:

Ian Forbes
Peter Robinson
Alan Cutts

Ian Forbes has also been shortlisted for a prestigious national ECB OSCA.

The Club was also delighted to welcome a number of coaches from across the county for the Sky Sports Coach Recognition Scheme.

David Sear, who is coach of the Kent under-11s girls squad, and Chris Swadkin, who is Chairman of the Kent Cricket Board, were both recently rewarded for their Outstanding Contribution and Services to Cricket Coaching by the England & Wales Cricket Board.

Commenting on the special day for recreation cricket in the county, MCC President, Derek Underwood, said: “I am delighted to be here amongst so many special individuals. The people earning their accolades today are wonderful servants of the game. The time and energy that they have dedicated over so many years is wonderful. They deserve their day in the limelight and I wouldn“t miss it for the world. As ever it was a great privilege to be invited and to hand out the Albury awards.”

Kent County Cricket Club would like to congratulate all concerned for the contributions that they continue to make to cricket in the county.

Picture: Derek Underwood with the Albury award winners