Skip to main content

Ryan Davies and Hugh Bernard in Under 19 Ashes squad

Monday 20th July 2015

Men’s First Team

Kent wicketkeeper Ryan Davies and seamer Hugh Bernard have been selected for theEngland Under-19 squads to play a five-match Royal London one-day series and a one-off four-day fixture against their Australian counterparts next month.

The 18-year-old Kent Cricket Academy graduates received call-ups for the 50-over series and Davies (pictured above) was also selected for the 'Test' match at Emirates Durham ICG.

Royal London matches take place on August 11 (South Northumberland CC), 14 (Chesterfield CC), 17 (The 3aaa County Ground, Derbyshire), 20 (Grace Road, Leicestershire), and 22 August (New Road, Worcestershire).

England Development Programme Chairman of Selectors, David Graveney, said: “It is a very exciting summer for England cricket, with the men’s Ashes level, the Women’s Ashes getting underway in Taunton tomorrow, and this England U19 v Australia U19 series on the horizon next month.

“We have selected two separate and larger squads than normal, reflecting the number of young players currently featuring in first team county cricket.

"Naming a large squad therefore enables us to be flexible and able to react should any of the selected players be called-upon to play first team county cricket.

“Both sides know each other well, having played a hard-fought series in Australia just four months ago, and the matches this summer will once again form an important part of England’s preparation for the 2016 ICC U19 World Cup in Bangladesh next February.”

Head of the England Development Programme, Andy Hurry will oversee the six-match series, with support from England Development Programme Coaches Tim Boon and Iain Brunnschweiler.

The series comes four months after England U19s returned form a reciprocal tour Down Under, where they narrowly lost the one-day series 3-2, and secured an excellent draw in the four-day match at the WACA.

England Under-19 4-day squad in full: Tom Alsop (Hants), Sam Curran (Surrey), Mason Crane (Hants), Ryan Davies (Kent), George Garton (Sussex), Ben Green (Somerset), Hasseb Hameed (c, Lancs), Max Holden (Middlesex), Saqib Mahmood (Lancs), Matthew Parkinson (Lancs), Brad Taylor (Hants), Callum Taylor (Essex), Aaron Thomason (Warks), Jared Warner (Yorkshire), Saif Zaib (Northants).

50-over squad: Hugh Bernard (Kent), Jack Burnham (Durham), Mason Crane (Hants), Sam Curran (Surrey), Ryan Davies (Kent), Aneurin Donald (c, Glamorgan), Ben Green (Somerset), Haseeb Hameed (Lancs), Adam Hickey (Durham), Daniel Lawrence (Essex), Saqib Mahmood (Lancs), Brad Taylor (Hampshire), Callum Taylor (Essex), Aaron Thomason (Warks), Jared Warner (Yorks), Saif Zaib (Northants).