Skip to main content

Sam Northeast and Suzie Bates win Player of the Year 2016

Saturday 24th September 2016

Sam Northeast and Suzie Bates were named Player of the Year at the 2016 Spitfire Kent Cricket Awards.

Both players also won the batting prize after respectively topping the run-scoring charts this summer: Kent captain Northeast plundered more than 2,000 runs in all formats for a second successive year while New Zealand skipper Bates starred in the women's double-winning season with bat and ball.

Matt Coles and Megan Belt each took home the Bowler of the Year prize for the second year in a row as top wicket-takers in all formats.

Alex Blake repeated the feat of 2015 by being awarded the men's Fielder of the Year and Lydia Greenway picked up the women's prize.

Daniel Bell-Drummond was recognised as the Iconic by FItzgerald One-Day Player of the Year after a number of match-winning performances at the top of the order including his maiden T20 century against Sussex.

A total of eight men and three women made their Kent debuts in 2016 and a number of personal landmarks were recognised.

Daniel Bell-Drummond, Joe Denly and Sean Dickson received framed scorecards of their maiden double-hundreds and Hardus Viljoen also picked up his maiden five-wicket haul for Kent.

The club also said farewell to David Griffiths, Rob Key and Sam Weller who all left the club in 2016 before Kent Cricket CEO Jamie Clifford thanked the staff and supporters after a gruelling season.


Men: Hugh Bernard, Will Gidman, Callum Jackson, Tom Latham, Imran Qayyum, Kagiso Rabada, Adam Rouse, Hardus Viljoen.

Women: Suzie Bates, Rochelle Beeson, Izzy Cloke.

Milestones – Men

First Class maiden double hundreds:

•Daniel Bell-Drummond – 206* v Loughborough MCCU @ The Spitfire Ground, St Lawrence

•Joe Denly – 206*v Northants @ Northampton

•Sean Dickson – 207* v Derbyshire @ Derby

Maiden T20 Century:

•Daniel Bell-Drummond – 112* v Surrey @ Tunbridge Wells

Maiden 5 wicket haul:

•Hardus Viljoen – v Gloucestershire @ Bristol

Landmarks – Men:

Joe Denly passed 8,000 runs in first class matches and 3,000 in T20 cricket.

Sam Northeast passed 7,000 runs in first class cricket.

Darren Stevens made his 500th appearance for Kent and passed 7,000 runs in List A cricket and 100 wickets in T20 cricket.

James Tredwell passed 400 wickets in first class cricket.

Daniel Bell-Drummond passed 3,000 runs in first class cricket, 1,000 each in List A and T20.

Will Gidman passed 3,000 runs in first class cricket

Sam Billings passed 2,000 runs in List A cricket and achieved first class and List A career-bests. He passed 100 catches in first class cricket 50 catches in List A and T20 cricket.

Matt Coles passed 2,000 runs and 300 wickets in first class matches and passed 100 wickets in List A cricket.

Alex Blake passed 1,000 runs each in first-class, List A and T20 cricket.

Sean Dickson passed 1,000 runs in first class cricket and achieved a career-best 99 on his Kent List A debut.

Milestones – Women

Maiden 100 for Kent:

•Suzie Bates 106* v Sussex T20

5-wicket hauls in a match:

•Natasha Farrant 6/16 v Staffordshire

•Megan Belt 5/8 v Yorkshire

Landmarks – Women

•Charlotte Edwards passed 6,000 runs for Kent and hit 40th 50 v Somerset in 135 matches

•Lydia Greenway passed 3,000 runs for Kent – 80 catches in 135 matches

•Tammy Beaumont passed 3,000 runs for Kent – 110 matches

•Alice Davidson-Richards maiden 50 v Sussex