Skip to main content

Shepherd Neame Kent Cricket League – week 2 review

Sunday 15th May 2016

Hartley suffered just their fourth loss since the introduction of the win lose format in 2012 and this was at the hands of newly promoted Tenterden, who will be more than happy with their start in the Premier Division with two wins out of two, writes Errol Valentine.

The home side invited Hartley to bat and Kent bowler Sam Weller (3/37) caused some trouble at the start, helping reduce the Champions to 42-4 when Calvin Savage joined James Hockley and began to rebuild.

Savage departed for 43 with the score on 108 and although Hockley fought on to 73 he received little support from his lower order as Hartley were dismissed for 169 on the 41st over. Tyler Griffin 42, Andrew Crawford 37, and an entertaining unbeaten 29 by Ben Price at the end saw Tenterden victors by 5 wickets with a ball shy of 15 overs remaining.

Bexley suffered a heavy defeat at Manor Way to visitors Tunbridge Wells. The home side won the toss and elected to bat and found runs hard to come by as wickets fell regularly through their innings against a steady Tunbridge Wells attack, Chris Williams, Alex Williams and David Smith taking two wickets each.

Christopher Laas top scored for Bexley with 33 but the Bexley total looked well under par at the half way stage reaching just 166-9. So it was to prove, and with Will Stickler scoring 79 and Michael Waller 54, Tunbridge Wells claimed a seven wicket victory in the 40th over.

Another home side soundly beaten were Bromley who entertained Sevenoaks Vine. The visitors were invited to bat and their innings can best be described as steady, with John Bowden 43 top scoring and Oscar King, 37, as they managed 201 all out from 48.4 overs which Bromley would have hoped to chase down.

Tom Parsons (4-28) in particular caused the Bromley top order problems and having been reduced to 68-5, despite a defiant 43 by Shavawn Cunningham they could find no way back. Lorne Burns also too 3-27 as the home side were bowled out for 113 in just under 30 overs.

At Hesketh Park, the home side Dartford also invited their visitors, Blackheath, to bat and they too were unable to chase down the total posted. Blackheath batted patiently George Wells starting with 31 followed by a determined unbeaten knock of 62 by Alex Roberts.

Dipyan Paul upped the tempo towards the end with 82 not out from 101 balls to leave Blackheath on 204, with perhaps unusually in win/lose cricket only 4 down at the end of their 50.

Perhaps they decided that 200 would be a good total to aim at? Dartford too did not find scoring easy as wickets began to fall to leave them 88-5. Callum Jackson showed some resistance with 59 but the steady Blackheath attack of Tom Meess (3-23), Jahid Ahmed (2-28), and Warren Lee pegged them back as they were dismissed for 166 in the 45th over.

In the final game Beckenham beat Lordswood at Martin Grove. Beckenham restricted Lordswood to 193-9 from their allocation of overs and Beckenham chased these down for the loss of four wickets in just 37.1 overs.

Bexley 166-9 lost to Tunbridge Wells 167-3 by 7 wickets

Bromley 113-10 lost to Sevenoaks Vine 201-10 by 88 runs

Dartford 160-10 lost to Blackheath 204-4 by 44 runs

Lordswood 193-9 lost to Beckenham 194-4 by 6 wickets

Tenterden 173-5 beat Hartley 169-10 by 5 wickets