Skip to main content

Stevens and Tredwell honoured at the annual PCA Awards

Saturday 17th October 2009

The Professional Cricketers’ Association (PCA), in association with NatWest and the England and Wales Cricket Board (ECB), recently hosted the PCA Awards 2009.

In front of 1,100 guests at Old Billingsgate, London, Marcus Trescothick and James Taylor were announced as winners of the top player awards. There was also reason to celebrate for Kent cricketers Darren Stevens and James Tredwell. Stevens was named the Twenty20 Cup“s Most Valuable Player while Tredwell was named in the Hewitt team of the year.

The Awards are unanimously supported by the players, with the main awards voted on by the players themselves. The major award categories are the NatWest PCA Player of the Year and NatWest PCA Young Player of the Year.

Reg Hayter Cup for the NatWest PCA Player of the Year 2009
Marcus Trescothick (Somerset)

John Arlott Cup for the NatWest PCA Young Player of the Year 2009
James Taylor (Leicestershire)

ECB Special Award 2009
Michael Vaughan

PCA Special Merit Award 2009 sponsored by Brit Insurance
Andrew Strauss

PCA Umpire of the Year 2009
Richard Kettleborough

Sky Sport Sixes League 2009
Dwayne Smith

Impossible is Nothing Award 2009 sponsored by adidas
Graham Stevenson

Most Valuable Player Awards
Twenty20 MVP 2009 – Darren Stevens
LV= County Championship MVP 2009 – Ian Blackwell
Friends Provident Trophy MVP 2009 sponsored by Friends Provident – Ed Joyce
NatWest Pro40 MVP 2009 sponsored by NatWest – Phil Mustard
PCA Overall MVP 2009 – Marcus Trescothick

Hewitt Team of the Year 2009
1. Marcus Trescothick (Somerset)
2. Andrew Strauss (captain – Middlesex & England)
3. Jonathan Trott (Warwickshire & England)
4. Ed Joyce (Sussex)
5. Ian Blackwell (Durham)
6. Craig Kieswetter (Somerset)
7. James Foster (wicketkeeper – Essex)
8 Stuart Broad (Nottinghamshire & England)
9. James Tredwell (Kent)
10. Graham Onions (Durham & England)
11. Steve Kirby (Gloucestershire)

Previous winners of the Reg Hayter Cup for the NatWest PCA Player of the Year Award include:
Martin van Jaarsveld, 2008
Ottis Gibson, 2007
Mark Ramprakash, 2006
Andrew Flintoff 2005, 2004
Mushtaq Ahmed, 2003
Michael Vaughan, 2002

Winners of the John Arlott Cup for the NatWest PCA Young Player Award have included:

Ravi Bopara 2008
Adil Rashid, 2007
Alastair Cook, 2006 & 2005
Ian Bell, 2004
Kabir Ali, 2003 & 2002

Over the past decade, the staging of the NatWest PCA Awards has raised significant funds for the PCA Benevolent Fund. The Fund is part of the PCA’s commitment to helping current and former players and their dependants in times of hardship, upheaval or to readjust to the world beyond the game.

Picture:Sarah Ansell