Swanepoel named in CSA T20 Challenge Team of the Tournament

Tuesday 30th April 2024

Men’s First Team

Vitality Blast

Swanepoel named in CSA T20 Challenge Team of the Tournament

Kent overseas recruit Beyers Swanepoel has been named in the CSA T20 Challenge’s Team of the Tournament, after sharing the top-wicket taker accolade in South Africa’s province-based T20 tournament.

The right-arm fast bowling-allrounder took 21 wickets at an average of 16.80 for the Dafabet Warriors, representing Eastern Province, taking a wicket on average every 13.14 deliveries, and at an economy of 7.67.

Tickets for your Summer social in Canterbury to see the Kent Spitfires in T20 competition are on sale now:

Buy your T20 tickets here

Lock in your place at The Spitfire Ground this Summer. Several matches completely sold out in 2023. Take advantage of Early Bird prices before the end of 1 May and save money by buying today.

The Warriors were defeated in the semi-final of the tournament by the Hollywoodbets Dolphins, representing KwaZulu-Natal Coastal, after finishing third in the CSA T20 Challenge League Table, following nine wins in 14 matches.

Swanepoel recorded new career-best T20 bowling figures against the Multiply Titans, representing Northerns, picking up five wickets for 39 runs.

The 25-year-old will join-up with Kent from 7 May until the end of the season, a week later than originally billed due to his involvement in the knockout rounds of this tournament.

He joins Kent in an all-format deal including the Vitality Blast, England’s premier T20 competition. He could make his Kent debut in the Spitfires’ Vitality County Championship match with Worcestershire at The Spitfire Ground, St Lawrence from Friday 10 May.

In the Vitality Blast, Swanepoel will be available for the whole tournament including any potential knockout matches. Other overseas stars, Xavier Bartlett & Wes Agar will also both be available for Kent in the Vitality Blast. Tournament rules allow four overseas players in a side’s squad, with two permitted in a Playing XI.

CSA T20 Challenge Team of the Tournament:

  • Ryan Rickelton (DP World Lions)
  • Matthew Breetzke (Dafabet Warriors)
  • Reeza Hendricks (DP World Lions)
  • Rassie van der Dussen (DP World Lions)
  • Jason Smith (Hollywoodbets Dolphins)
  • Sibonelo Makhanya (Multiply Titans)
  • Beyers Swanepoel (Dafabet Warriors)
  • Siya Simetu (Dafabet Warriors)
  • Bjorn Fortuin (DP World Lions)
  • Okuhle Cele (Hollywoodbets Dolphins)
  • Nqabayomzi Peter (DP World Lions)

Vitality Blast is back this June & July!

  • The most exciting form of county cricket – international T20 & Hundred stars feature for county sides in a format that usually lasts around three hours – the perfect sporting night out!

Buy your T20 tickets here

Scramble your squadron for a choice of Friday nights & weekends this June & July and enjoy discounts on tickets for groups of six or more!