Skip to main content

Tredwell and Denly earn England call-ups for UAE and Bangladesh tour

Monday 18th January 2010

Kent spin bowler James Tredwell (pictured) has been named in a 15-man one day squad and a 16-man Test squad for the forthcoming tour to UAE and Bangladesh, which departs on February 13th. His county team-mate, Joe Denly, has been named in the one day party.

The selectors have opted to rest Andrew Strauss from the tour and he will be replaced as Test and One-Day captain by the current vice-captain Alastair Cook. Paul Collingwood will lead the side in the two T20 Internationals against Pakistan in UAE which precede the tour of Bangladesh.

James Anderson has also been rested from the tour in order to undergo a specialist review and a programme of rehabilitation for his chronic right knee injury. It is anticipated that following the rehabilitation period, he will be fully fit and available for selection for the World T20 tournament in the West Indies in late April.

Tredwell is one of two uncapped players named, along with the Yorkshire pace bowler Ajmal Shahzad, while another uncapped player, Hampshire batsman Michael Carberry, has been included in the Test squad.

Commenting on his inclusion, Tredwell said: “I“m delighted to be going to Bangladesh with England. I thoroughly enjoyed the trip to South Africa but going to Bangladesh may give me be a better chance of getting a game because conditions might suit playing two spinners. We have a strong squad and I“m very much looking forward to my first tour to Bangladesh.”

Kent“s Joe Denly added: “I“m delighted to be back in the England squad. I“m really pleased with being selected and cannot wait to get back out there with my international team-mates. It will be good to have James (Tredwell) out there and I“m sure the tour will go well for both me and England.”

The full squads are as follows:

One day squad:
1. Alastair Cook (captain) (Essex)
2. Tim Bresnan (Yorkshire)
3. Stuart Broad (Nottinghamshire)
4. Paul Collingwood (Durham)
5. Joe Denly (Kent)
6. Eoin Morgan (Middlesex)
7. Matthew Prior (Sussex)
8. Kevin Pietersen (Hampshire)
9. Liam Plunkett (Durham)
10. Ryan Sidebottom (Nottinghamshire)
11. Ajmal Shahzad (Yorkshire)
12. Graeme Swann (Nottinghamshire)
13. James Tredwell (Kent)
14. Jonathan Trott (Warwickshire)
15 Luke Wright (Sussex)

Test squad:
1. Alastair Cook (captain) (Essex)
2. Ian Bell (Warwickshire)
3. Stuart Broad (Nottinghamshire)
4. Michael Carberry (Hampshire)
5. Paul Collingwood (Durham)
6. Steven Davies (Surrey)
7. Graham Onions (Durham)
8. Kevin Pietersen (Hampshire)
9. Liam Plunkett (Durham)
10. Matthew Prior (Sussex)
11. Ajmal Shahzad (Yorkshire)
12. Ryan Sidebottom (Nottinghamshire)
13. Graeme Swann (Nottinghamshire)
14. James Tredwell (Kent)
15. Jonathan Trott (Warwickshire
16. Luke Wright (Sussex)

Picture:Getty Images