Tredwell named in England World Twenty20 squad

Tuesday 30th March 2010

The ECB today named three Kent players in the final England men’s and women’s squads for the forthcoming ICC World Twenty20 to be held in the Caribbean from April 30.

After an impressive tour of Bangladesh, James Tredwell (pictured)justifiably keeps his place in the national side.

The England women’s squad includes Kent duo Charlotte Edwards, who skippers the side, and Lydia Greenway as they look to defend their ICC World Twenty20 crown.

Commenting on his selection, Tredwell said: “I“m naturally delighted to earn selection for the World t20. Being part of the tour of Bangladesh, and making my Test and ODI debut, was a great thing for me. Now I want to really take it forward. This is good recognition for both me and Kent cricket. I guess it shows that I must be doing something right to maintain my place in the national squad.”

England men’s ICC World T20 squad:
1. Paul Collingwood (Durham, Captain)
2. James Anderson (Lancashire)
3. Ravi Bopara (Essex)
4. Tim Bresnan (Yorkshire)
5. Stuart Broad (Nottinghamshire)
6. Craig Kieswetter (Somerset)
7. Michael Lumb (Hampshire)
8. Eoin Morgan (Middlesex)
9. Kevin Pietersen (Hampshire)
10. Ajmal Shahzad (Yorkshire)
11. Ryan Sidebottom (Nottinghamshire)
12. Graeme Swann (Nottinghamshire)
13. James Tredwell (Kent)
14. Luke Wright (Sussex)
15. Michael Yardy (Sussex)

England women’s ICC World T20 squad:

1. Charlotte Edwards (Kent, Captain)
2. Katherine Brunt (Yorkshire)
3. Holly Colvin (Sussex)
4. Lydia Greenway (Kent)
5. Jenny Gunn (Nottinghamshire)
6. Danielle Hazell (Yorkshire)
7. Heather Knight (Berkshire)
8. Laura Marsh (Sussex)
9. Beth Morgan (Middlesex)
10. Nicky Shaw (Surrey)
11. Anya Shrubsole (Somerset)
12. Claire Taylor (Berkshire)
13. Sarah Taylor (Sussex)
14. Danielle Wyatt (Staffordshire)

The ICC World Twenty20 commences on Friday April 30 in Guyana with the final to be played on Sunday May 16 in Barbados.

Picture:Getty Images