Skip to main content

Tredwell selected for England Performance Squad

Saturday 7th April 2012

ECB today announced a 26-man England Performance Squad for the 2012 international summer season which includes Kent's James Tredwell.

The England Performance Squad, which is chosen by the England selectors, consists of the thirteen centrally contracted players, four players who have been awarded increment contracts and nine other players all of whom have been capped at senior international level. Five players – Jonny Bairstow, Jos Buttler, Danny Briggs, Stuart Meaker and Ben Stokes – are included in the England Performance Squad for the first time.

ECB National Selector Geoff Miller said: “We welcome the five new players to the squad and their inclusion reflects the progress they have all made with senior England teams and the England Lions over the last twelve months.

“The England Performance Squad is designed to allow the selectors to monitor the development of international players and better prepare them for the demands of the international game.

“We can name a total of 30 players in the EPS squad but have decided to name only 26 at this early stage of the season. We will keep this under review and may add additional players to the squad should individual performances merit it later in the summer.”

England Performance Squad 2012

  1. Andrew Strauss (Middlesex) Test captain
  2. Alastair Cook (Essex) One-Day Captain
  3. Stuart Broad (Nottinghamshire) T20 Captain
  4. James Anderson (Lancashire)
  5. Jonny Bairstow (Yorkshire)
  6. Ian Bell (Warwickshire)
  7. Ravi Bopara (Essex)
  8. Tim Bresnan (Yorkshire)
  9. Danny Briggs (Hampshire)
  10. Jos Buttler (Somerset)
  11. Steven Davies (Surrey)
  12. Jade Dernbach (Surrey)
  13. Steven Finn (Middlesex)
  14. Craig Kieswetter (Somerset)
  15. Eoin Morgan (Middlesex)
  16. Stuart Meaker (Surrey)
  17. Graham Onions (Durham)
  18. Monty Panesar (Sussex)
  19. Samit Patel (Nottinghamshire)
  20. Kevin Pietersen (Surrey)
  21. Matt Prior (Sussex)
  22. Ben Stokes (Durham)
  23. Graeme Swann (Nottinghamshire)
  24. James Tredwell (Kent)
  25. Chris Tremlett (Surrey)
  26. Jonathan Trott (Warwickshire)

12-month Central Contracts for 2011-12:

James Anderson, Ian Bell, Tim Bresnan, Stuart Broad, Alastair Cook, Steven Finn, Eoin Morgan, Kevin Pietersen, Matt Prior, Andrew Strauss, Graeme Swann, Chris Tremlett and Jonathan Trott.

Increment Contracts for 2011-2012:

Ravi Bopara, Jade Dernbach, Craig Kieswetter, Samit Patel.