Skip to main content

Trio pick up Kent Cricket Academy Awards 2015

Tuesday 1st September 2015

Some of the brightest prospects in Kentish cricket were recognised in the 2015 Academy Awards on day one of the LV= County Championship against Lancashire on Tuesday.

Batsman Zak Crawley, 17, (pictured centre) picked up the John Aitken Gray Trophy for best Academy scholar after a strong season culminating in his first century for the second XI and selection in the England Development Programme Super 4s tournament.

The Sevenoaks Vine cricketer and Tonbridge School pupil follows current first team stars who received the award including Daniel Bell-Drummond, Adam Ball, Alex Blake, Ryan Davies and Hugh Bernard.

Kent Under 17s and Hartley Country Club bowling allrounder Ian McLean (left) received the Colin Page Scholarship from chairman of cricket Graham Johnson.

Alex Moen (right) of Marden Cricket Club and Tonbridge School was the winner of the George Pope Memorial Cup for the best under-15 prospect.

John Aitken Gray Trophy – Best Academy Scholar

Myrna Gray presented the annual Academy scholarship of £500 and the trophy in memory of her late husband John Aitken Gray.

We are extremely grateful to Myrna for her continued support of our young scholars and it is a delight to see her at Canterbury.

Colin Page Scholarship

It is presented in memory of former Kent player and coach, Colin Page. Colin coached many cricketers over the years, but his love for developing young home grown talent saw him spend many hours during the winter months in the Indoor Schools at both Canterbury and Sevenoaks.

Ian McLeanwas presented with this year's scholarship for £150 by Kent chairman of cricket Graham Johnson.

He was identified by the Kent U17 Performance Squad Coaches as an individual who has shown a great attitude and commitment towards his cricket during the winter training and summer match programme.

George Pope Memorial Cup

In the 1940s George, a teacher in South East London, became a skilled identifier and developer of talented young cricketers within London Schools Cricket Association and in 1951, acting rather like a missionary, he set up Kent Schools Cricket Association and went on to be one of the prime movers that led, in 1954, to the birth of English Schools Cricket Association.

George’s dedication to Kent’s young cricketers was acknowledged in 1973 when Les Ames proposed to the Kent Committee that he be made an Honorary Life Member of Kent County Cricket Club.

Kent Schools Cricket Association ran all the county age group sides until responsibility gradually moved to County Clubs or County Boards in the early 1990s.

When he passed away in 1975 a Cup was purchased by his wife Edna to be awarded annually to a player who had contributed to Kent Schools teams over several years. But when KSCA ceased to run county teams the award became defunct.

Now reinstated, it is to be awarded each year to an Outstanding U15 Kent Player.

Alex Moenwaspresented with the cup and a cheque for £100 by Kent Cricket Talent Pathway Chairman, David Turner.