Tunbridge Wells Cricket Festival Squad announced

Saturday 24th May 2014

Men’s First Team

The 102nd Tunbridge Wells Cricket festival takes centre stage from Sunday 25th May to Wednesday 28th May with Kent resuming their LV= County Championship action against one of the second division’s leading teams Worcestershire. This signals the start of a hectic period for all Counties with swift changes from NatWest T20 Blast mode to four day County Championship cricket within two days. Kent had just played and beaten Somerset in their opening fixture in the shorter version of the game, Friday night in Taunton.

Head Coach Jimmy Adams maintains the consistent selection approach to competition games that has been a feature of the season so far, making only two changes to the squad from the last four day encounter. Australian left arm fast bowler Doug Bollinger is rested following an unbroken sequence of competition that goes back to the start of the Australian season and is replaced by Robbie Joseph, Fitzgerald Jewellers Man of the Match in the recent 50 over Tour match against Sri Lanka. Matt Hunn takes over Charlie Hartley’s duties as 12th man. ”We always look forward to playing in Tunbridge Wells and appreciate the support we receive there,” states Adams. “Worcestershire are tough opposition but we aim to get back onto the winning path in the LV= County Championship as soon as we can.”

The Cricket Festival is noted for its theme days with Day One being linked to all things ‘Made in Kent’ – arts, crafts and materials, with the addition of one import. Former England wicketkeeper Jack Russell will be displaying this painting, along with local artist Louise Giblin’s fantastic Olympic casts. Bank Holiday Monday is Ladies’ Day. A feature of this will include the Fashion on the Outfield competition, during the afternoon tea break, in association with local retailer La Belle Femme.

The two Counties have faced each other in Tunbridge Wells ten times, with Kent having an impressive record of success – four wins and six draws. The 1992 and 1986 matches were both drawn, with the most recent victory, by 202 runs in 1967, having the familiar names of MC Cowdrey, APE Knott and DL Underwood featuring prominently on the scorecard. For a full history of matches at The Nevill click here.

For a complete history of Kent v Worcestershire Championship encounters, click here.

The match begins 11am Sunday, 25 May, at theCounty Ground, The Nevill Ground, Tunbridge Wells, gates open at 9am.

The squad is:

1. Rob Key (c)

2. Sam Northeast

3. Daniel Bell-Drummond

4. Brendan Nash

5. Ben Harmison

6. Darren Stevens

7. Sam Billings (w)

8. Adam Ball

9. Adam Riley

10. Mitch Claydon

11. Robbie Joseph

12. Matt Hunn

Injury Update:

Mark Davies – Out for 4 – 6 weeks, rehabilitation following shoulder injury.

James Tredwell – On England duties.

All other players are available for selection

Ticketing Information

Adult – Pre-buy ticket price is £15.00 up until 9pm the day before play. From this point and at the gate £20.

Juniors – Complimentary for all four days of the Festival

To purchase Visit www.kentcricket.co.uk. Online print at home tickets incur no booking fee.