Skip to main content

Tunbridge Wells & Lordswood survive, Holmesdale and Sandwich promoted

Sunday 4th September 2016

Tunbridge Wells and Lordswood ensured their safety as Bromley suffered their first relegation since the beginning of the Shepherd Neame Kent Premier League in 1999.

Fabian Cowdrey made a comeback from an appendix surgery and Sean Dickson also played in Lordswood’s resounding 108-run victory over visitors Sevenoaks Vine.

The hosts were invited to bat first and James Anyon top scored for them with 45, Amjad Khan made 38 and Shaun Piesley 36 and with others chipping in, Lordswood were bowled out in the 50th over for 258.

In reply, the Vine set off well and reached 94-1 with Anthony Shales making 46 but then wickets began falling regularly, Amjad Khan doing much of the damage with 4-14 as the Vine slid to 150 all out from just 36.1 overs.

Blackheath had a disappointing day with the bat as they travelled to the Nevill, Tunbridge Wells.

Invited to bat only Richard Fleming with 80 and Dipyan Paul 36 made significant contributions for Blackheath as they were bowled out for 177 with Fred Florry taking 4-33.

Chris Williams (82 and Michael Waller (62 not out) shared 114 for the first wicket and made a big inroad to the target required. Despite 4-48 by Rishi Roy-Mukherjee Tunbridge Wells romped home in the 29th over with six wickets in hand.

The other three games were all affected by the weather and were all incomplete games. Champions Hartley posted 305-9 at Hesketh Park, Dartford, Dan Stickels finishing the season strongly with 124 and Richard Selvey-Clinton 64. James Thompson helped reduce Dartford to 102-7 with 5-14 when the rain came with still 29 overs remaining.

A final day century, 102, for Tenterden's Chris Vernon plus 50 from Tyler Griffin helped their side to a decent total of 258-8 at Plaistow Lane, Bromley. The home side were making a spirited reply reaching 173-2, Shavawn Cunningham 59 and Imran Qayyum 42 both unbeaten when the rain arrived but fate had already determined Bromley's demise.

Bexley posted 226-7 for Beckenham to chase with Aryan Jain making 42, Matthew Stiddard 31 and Adam Riley 30. Beckenham had reached 59-4 when the heavens opened with Riley taking 1-4 off two overs

The Premier League will be joined next year by Division 1 Champions Holmesdale and runners up, Sandwich Town after an exciting last Saturday, with all top three clubs winning their games.

It is a return for Sandwich Town but it will be Holmesdale’s first visit to the Premier Division since their double relegation from the old Kent League in its final year of 1998.

Relegated Folkestone bowed out of Division One in style with a fine eight-wicket win at Cheriton Road.

Kent Cricket Academy leg-spinner Jan Gray took 3/18 in 6.3 overs and Hugh Bernard took 2/17 in seven overs as HSBC were dismissed for just 119 with Australian all-rounder Grant Stewart scoring a fluent 50 before Himanshu Waingankar (47) and Sam Ireland (40) saw Folkestone home.


Premier League

Champions: Hartley Country Club / Runners Up: Blackheath / Relegated: Dartford and Bromley

Division 1

Champions: Holmesdale / Runners Up: Sandwich Town / Relegated: Gore Court, Folkestone

Division 2

Champions: Bickley Park / Runners Up: Bromley Common / Relegated: Hythe, Ashford Town

Division 3

Champions: Broadstairs / Runners Up: Chestfield / Relegated: OD CUACO, Minster (Sheppey)

Division 4

Champions: Bexleyheath / Runners Up: Harvel / Relegated: Betteshanger Colliery, Westgate-on-Sea

Division 5

Champions: Tonbridge / Runners Up: Rainham (Kent) / Relegated: Rodmersham, R A C S