Two Kent women named in England squad for series against New Zealand

Tuesday 1st June 2010

Kent duo Charlotte Edwards and Lydia Greenway (pictured)were today named by the ECB in the England women“s squad for the forthcoming NatWest Women“s International T20 matches and the NatWest Women“s ODI Series against New Zealand.

An unchanged squad of 14 from the ICC World Twenty20 has been selected and will be captained by Edwards with Jenny Gunn as vice captain.

The squad will remain the same for the NatWest Women“s International T20 matches and the NatWest Women“s ODI Series.

The NatWest Women“s International T20 matches will be broadcast live on Sky and run alongside the Friends Provident t20, with the women’s matches preceding fixtures between Essex and Sussex at Chelmsford, Hampshire and Glamorgan at The Rose Bowl, and Sussex and Middlesex at Hove.

Clare Connor, Head of England Women“s Cricket at the ECB said "Once again there was stiff competition for places but the selectors feel that this is a balanced squad of highly talented players for both the Twenty20 and the 50 over format. Whilst the outcome of the tournament in the Caribbean was hugely disappointing, the selectors believe that this group of players have the resolve and skills required to deliver the England women’s team back to winning ways.

I am delighted that the NatWest Women“s International T20 matches against New Zealand will be live on Sky with the matches taking place before men’s Friends Provident t20 matches at Chelmsford, the Rose Bowl and Hove. These sorts of double-header opportunities are going to play an important part in continuing to raise the profile of the women’s game – to live audiences and TV audiences alike."

The full squad of 14 is as follows: Charlotte Edwards (Kent, captain), Katherine Brunt (Yorkshire), Holly Colvin (Sussex), Lydia Greenway (Kent), Jenny Gunn (Nottinghamshire), Danielle Hazell (Yorkshire), Heather Knight (Berkshire), Laura Marsh (Sussex), Beth Morgan (Middlesex), Nicky Shaw (Surrey), Anya Shrubsole (Somerset), Claire Taylor (Berkshire), Sarah Taylor (Sussex), Danielle Wyatt (Staffordshire)

England women will play their first NatWest Women’s International T20 against New Zealand on Tuesday, June 29 at Chelmsford and their first NatWest Women’s ODI Series match on Saturday, July 10, at Taunton.

Picture:Getty Images