Zak Crawley records highest Ashes score from a Kent Men’s batter

Thursday 20th July 2023


Zak Crawley records highest Ashes score from a Kent Men’s batter

Kent & England opener Zak Crawley has written himself further into the Club’s history books by recording the highest score from any male Kent batter in an Ashes match.

His 189 against Australia at Emirates Old Trafford surpassed the 188 scored by Mike Denness for England at the Melbourne Cricket Ground (MCG) in February 1975.

Whilst Denness’ 188 came in 448 deliveries, Crawley’s knock was imperious by contrast – the Bromley-born right-hander smashed his 189 in just 182 balls – breaking several records along the way.

His knock was the fastest 150 in the history of Test cricket at Old Trafford, the second fastest century, and also the second fastest century by an England opener in Men’s Tests.

The previously highest Ashes score from a Kent batter in Manchester was Bob Woolmer’s 137 back in July 1977.

Crawley becomes the 11th male Kent player to have scored an Ashes hundred, & the 14th overall – with Cecilia Robinson, Charlotte Edwards &, of course, Tammy Beaumont having scored Women’s Ashes centuries – Beaumont’s 208 this year against the ‘Aussies’ at Trent Bridge the highest score for England against Australia from any Kent cricketer.

In the Kentish Men/Men of Kent Medway divide, Crawley is the fourth Kentish Man to reach three figures against Australia in Tests.

Kent cricketers to have scored a century for England against Australia:

  • Les Ames
    • 120 at Lord’s Cricket Ground, 1934
  • Tammy Beaumont
    • 114 at Grace Road, 2019 (Women’s One Day International)
    • 208 at Trent Bridge, 2023
  • Percy Chapman
    • 121 at Lord’s Cricket Ground, 1930
  • Colin Cowdrey
    • 102 at the MCG, 1954
    • 100* at Sydney Cricket Ground, 1959
    • 113 at the MCG, 1962
    • 104 at the MCG, 1965
    • 104 at Edgbaston, 1968
  • Mike Denness
    • 188 at the MCG, 1975
  • Charlotte Edwards
    • 114* at Bankstown Oval, 2011
  • Kenneth Hutchings
    • 126 at the MCG, 1908
  • Alan Knott
    • 106* at Adelaide Oval, 1975; 135 at Trent Bridge, 1977
  • Brian Luckhurst
    • 131 at the Western Australia Cricket Ground (WACA), 1970
    • 109 at the MCG, 1971
  • Peter Richardson
    • 104 at Old Trafford, 1956
  • Cecilia Robinson
    • 105 at Scarborough, 1951
    • 102 at Adelaide, 1958
  • Frank Woolley
    • 133* at the MCG, 1912
    • 123 at the MCG, 1924
  • Bob Woolmer
    • 149 at the Oval, 1975
    • 120 at Lord’s, 1977
    • 137 at Old Trafford, 1977

International T20 cricket will return to Canterbury on Thursday 11 July 2024 when The Spitfire Ground, St Lawrence hosts the 3rd match in England’s IT20 series against New Zealand.

It is only the second time that Canterbury has hosted a Women’s International T20 match in its long history, and will be another boost for the continued growth of women’s cricket in Kent.

Registration for priority access to tickets is now open. For priority access, please complete the form below:

Sign-up for ticket priority here