Kent v Derbyshire, Specsavers County Championship 2017

Kent v Derbyshire, Specsavers County Championship 2017

Kent make one change to the squad as they aim for a third successive Specsavers County Championship win.

Alex Blake replaces Joe Weatherley, who is ill and James Harris has recovered from a minor chest injury that kept him out of the 226-run win at Hove.

Head coach Matt Walker is delighted with the side’s start to the season but says the squad must maintain their focus in a very competitive promotion race.

The former Kent batsman said: “Derbyshire are a dangerous side with good players and have reinforced over the winter.

“We won’t underestimate anyone in this division. It’s much improved this year: there are some good sides with dangerous cricketers.

“We enjoyed the wins but we have moved on and prepare for the next challenge.”

Click here to pre-buy tickets

Kent squad: 17 Sam Northeast (c), 23 Daniel Bell-Drummond, 58 Sean Dickson, 6 Joe Denly, 42 Will Gidman, 3 Darren Stevens, 10 Alex Blake, 12 Adam Rouse, 36 Wayne Parnell, 4 James Harris, 26 Matt Coles, 15 James Tredwell, 8 Mitch Claydon.

Derbyshire squad: 1 Billy Godleman (c), 10 Luis Reece, 26 Ben Slater, 3 Charlie Macdonell, 57 Shiv Thakor, 77 Wayne Madsen, 11 Daryn Smit, 88 Jeevan Mendis, 9 Gary Wilson (wk), 18 Alex Hughes, 8 Tom Milnes, 28 Tony Palladino, 44 Will Davis, 36 Ben Cotton.


o             Kent have only lost once in their last seven matches versus Derbyshire (W3 D3).

o             Kent have only tasted defeat twice across their last 21 outings (W8 D11); coming into this game having won both of their opening 2017 matches.

o             Sam Northeast (Kent) has recorded five County Championship hundreds since June 2016; no batsman has claimed more in that time (level with Durham’s Keaton Jennings).

o             Northeast registered his highest ever first-class innings score when these sides last met (191, June 2016).

Head to head record: Played 119, Kent won 46, Derbyshire 31, drawn/tied 42.