Skip to main content

Charlotte Edwards named England Women’s Cricketer of the Year

Tuesday 19th May 2015


Kent and England captainCharlotte Edwardshas been named England Women’s Cricketer of the Year for 2014-2015.

Edwards was honoured at a special dinner held in the Long Room at Lord’s last night, which was hosted by ECB, and England cricket team sponsor, Waitrose.

England women’s captain, Charlotte Edwards, enjoyed another remarkable year to win the women’s team award for the second consecutive year.

Averaging over 75 in ODIs and nearly 60 in Twenty20 International (T20I) cricket over the last 12 months, Edwards once again led from the front, as England women secured ODI series victories against India and New Zealand, alongside T20I series wins against South Africa and New Zealand.

Heather Knight, Anya Shrubsole and Sarah Taylor were the other nominees for the award.

Joe Root scooped the men's award, Saqib Mahmood won the England Development Programme award and Luke Sugg won the Disability Cricketer of the Year award.

The awards recognise the outstanding performances of the players in all formats of international cricket since May 2014.

ECB Chief Executive Tom Harrison said: “These awards once again highlight the sheer breadth of individual talent across our different England teams and there was fierce competition for the trophies in all four categories.

"Our thanks go to the England teams’ sponsor Waitrose for their continued support, to the cricket media for their assistance with the judging process, and to MCC for once again staging the event this evening in the iconic Long Room at Lord’s.”

The Spitfire Ground, St Lawrence is the venue for the only Women's Kia Test between England and Australia, starting on Tuesday 11 August, click here to buy tickets.

Kent Women play a double-header at The Spitfire Ground, St Lawrence this weekend against Lancashire and Nottinghamshire this Bank Holiday Weekend on Sunday and Monday, 11am start both days.