Skip to main content

Four Kent women named in provisional squad for ICC WT20

Tuesday 2nd March 2010

The England selectors have named four Kent women in a provisional 20-strong squad for the forthcoming ICC World Twenty20 tournament, to be played in the West Indies from May 5.

The squad includes captain Charlotte Edwards (pictured), batsman Lydia Greenway, wicketkeeper Tammy Beaumont and the uncapped Susie Rowe.

The 20-strong squad will be cut to 14 on March 19, following a final meeting of the selection panel.

Clare Connor, head of England women“s cricket, said: "There is real strength in depth to this squad and this is testament to the development of players at county level and within the England women’s Academy set-up.

“The 14 players eventually chosen will be faced with the exciting challenge of retaining the World Twenty20 following our victory in last year“s tournament in England. The women“s game continues to grow in popularity and we are delighted that the men’s and women’s semi-finals and finals will be played as double-headers in the Caribbean, just as they were in England in 2009."

England 20-man ICC Twenty20 squad
Charlotte Edwards (Kent)
Caroline Atkins (Sussex)
Tammy Beaumont (Kent)
Katherine Brunt (Yorkshire)
Holly Colvin (Sussex)
Lydia Greenway (Kent)
Lauren Griffith (Cheshire)
Isa Guha (Berkshire)
Jenny Gunn (Nottingham)
Danielle Hazell (Yorkshire)
Heather Knight (Devon)
Laura Marsh (Sussex)
Beth Morgan (Middlesex)
Ebony Rainford-Brent (Surrey)
Susie Rowe (Kent)
Nicky Shaw (Surrey)
Anya Shrubsole (Somerset)
Claire Taylor (Buckinghamshire)
Sarah Taylor (Sussex)
Danielle Wyatt (Staffordshire)

Picture:Getty Images