Skip to main content

Hugh Bernard wins award at Shepherd Neame Kent Cricket League dinner

Monday 16th November 2015

Men’s First Team

Kent bowler Hugh Bernard was named Young Player of the Year at the Shepherd Neame Kent Cricket League dinner at the Mercure Maidstone Hotel on Friday night.

The 19-year-old, who signed his first professional contract in June, took seven wickets in four matches for England Under 19s against Australia this summer.

The Kent Cricket Academy graduate plays his club cricket for Folkestone and became a regular for the Kent second XI this summer.

He took 4-22 in four overs in the Second XI T20 semi-final win against Durham and 2-23 in four overs in the final defeat to Middlesex.

In two 50-over trophy matches, he took five wickets as well as 12 Championship wickets.

Guests included Kent and England spinner Derek Underwood and Kent's Spitfire Player of the Year 2015 Matt Coles.


1st XI


Champions – Hartley Country Club

Batting – Tanweer Sikandar (Blackheath) 714 runs

Bowling – Daniel Redwood (Hartley Country Club) 38 wkts

Division 1

Champions – Dartford

Batting – Matthew White (The Mote) 864 runs

Bowling – Tom Richards (Tenterden) 39 wkts

Division 2

Champions – Holmesdale

Batting – Luke Blackaby (Holmesdale) 890 runs

Bowling – Adeel Hussain (Gore Court) 51 wkts

Division 3

Champions – Ashford Town

Batting – Lewis Wright (Old Elthamians) 733 runs

Bowling – Craig Buckham (Ashford Town) 56 wkts

Division 4

Champions – Leeds & Broomfield

Batting – Max Aitken (Leeds & Broomfield) 823

Bowling – Adil Ali (Harvel) 57 wkts

Division 5

Champions – Bexleyheath

Batting – Christian Stent (Bexleyheath) 786 runs

Bowling – Dale Clarkson (Bexleyheath) 41 wkts

2nd XI


Champions – Bexley

Batting – John Smyth (Dartford) 713 runs

Bowling – Rhys Morgan (Hartley Country Club) 51 wkts

Division 1

Champions – Orpington

Batting – David Foster (Blackheath) 727 runs

Bowling – Kapila Perera (Orpington) 44 wkts

Division 2

Champions – Holmesdale

Batting – Paul Geary (Gore Court) 660 runs

Bowling – Ben Butcher (Blackheath IV) 47 wkts

Division 3

Champions – Nonington

Batting – Terry Dunham (Sibton Park) 814 runs

Bowling – Simon Hunter (ODCUACO) 39 wkts

Division 4

Champions – Bexleyheath

Batting – Apurva Anand (Blackheath Wanderers City of London) 697 runs

Bowling – Grant Channon (Hythe) & Ben Higgs (Blackheath Wanderers City of London) 34 wkts

Division 5

Champions – Minster

Batting – Barry Wilson (Betteshanger Colliery Welfare) 528 runs

Bowling – John Crisp (Bromley Town) 40 wkts

Twenty-20 Cup winners:Blackheath

Bert Roebuck Award:Stanley Wells (Bexley 2) 8-30 versus Canterbury (home) 29th August

Spirit of Cricket:

Premier – Folkestone

Division 1 – Dartford

Division 2 – St Lawrence & Highland Court

Tony Levick Award:Howard Smith

Young Player of the Year:Hugh Bernard (Folkestone)

Player of the Season:Luke Blackaby (Holmesdale)

Cricketer of the Year:Chris Willetts (Blackheath)

Wicketkeeper of the Year:Ben Price (Tenterden) 33 dismissals

See Kent in action next summer with a Kent Cricket Membership

Click here to join at special early bird prices until 31 December 2015