Kent League Round-Up: SLHC & Holmesdale promoted to Premier Division

Tuesday 6th September 2022

Kent League Round-Up: SLHC & Holmesdale promoted to Premier Division

Kent all-rounder Darren Stevens scored a century for his club side, St Lawrence and Highland Court, as they finished top of Division One, and gained promotion to the Premier Division, returning to the top flight after a 12 year absence.

Stevens scored 103, with eight boundaries and two sixes, as the home side scored 231 for 7 from their 50 overs, and then bowled out local rivals Canterbury, for 125, to gain an impressive 88 run victory.

Will Hilton hit 52 and Kent’s Harry Podmore opened the batting scoring 12, former Kent Second Eleven bowler Jarred Lysaught 3 for 29. Ben Trott had identical bowling figures as the visitors slumped to their low score reply.

Holmesdale have been promoted to the Premier Division alongside St Lawrence, after they beat already relegated Bromley Common, at home, by seven wickets. After bowling out their visitors for 107, Callum Gallagher 4 for 39, Kent Academy scholar, Will Harby, scored 59, as the home side reached their winning total 112 for 3 in 23.5 overs.

Old Wilsonians were relegated, along with Bromley Common, after they lost by 72 runs away to Folkestone, who scored 206 for 7 from their 50 overs, Jackson Isakka 52, Chris Jay 63 not out, David Ellicott-White 4 for 24. In reply, Wilsonians were bundled out for 134, John Rodda 66, Kent’s young all-rounder Tawanda Muyeye 4 for 22.

In a close Division One match, Bromley beat Dartford at home by just two runs, Jam Ali scored 68, and Richard Selvey-Clinton 55, in their 259 for 8, Isaac Ray 4 for 48. The visitors were all out for 257, Gary Cook 45.

The Mote won away at Linden Park, by three wickets, reaching a winning 233 for 2, after the home side were 232 for 9 from their 50 overs. In The Mote innings, Matt White was 94 not out, with 10 boundaries, and three sixes, Jesse Christensen 65 not out, in a third wicket partnership of 128.

In the Premier Division, Bickley Park won their final match by four wickets, at home to Sevenoaks Vine, but it was not enough to save them from relegation, by one point below Sandwich. The Vine made 186 for 9, Michael Cowdrey 59, Jason Benn 3 for 15. Park reached their winning target 188 for 6 in 45.2 overs, Charlie Smith not out 62, Elliott Hooper 54, Kent spinner James Logan 3 for 35.

Hayes, who became champions, before their final match at home to Sandwich, ended the season with a convincing 111 run victory, with two century makers in their 318 for 5. James Bamber 126, with 18 fours, and Will MacVicar 102, eight boundaries and four sixes, Gareth Severin 58, former Kent Second Eleven player, Jan Gray 3 for 67. In reply the visitors 207 all out in 40.5 overs, Jake Smith 47, MacVicar 3 for 68, Connor Byrne 4 for 46.

Minster (Sheppey) beat already relegated Beckenham by 103 runs, the home side scoring 353 for 4, with James Thompson a magnificent 157, with seven sixes, and 17 fours, Ed Moore 81, Aron Nijjar 45. The vfisitors all out 250, Gethin Roberts 79, James Fear 74, former Kent Second Eleven player Kai Appleby 3 for 19.

The 2021 champions, Bexley, won away at Tunbridge Wells by 34 runs, after posting 237 for 7, Aiden Griggs 60, Shaun Evans 78, Matt Barker 5 for 43. Wells all out 203 in 48.5 overs, Viraj Bhatia 65, Kent’s young fast bowler, Jas Singh 3 for 47, and former Kent spinner, Adam Riley 3 for 46.

Blackheath finished the season on a winning note, away at Lordswood, with victory by eight wickets. The home side 223 for 9 from their 50 overs, Ed Taylor 90, Arafat Bhuiyan 3 for 32, the visitors winning in 42.3 overs, 225 for 2,  Tanweer Sikanda 83, Tejpal Bird 59, Ross Richardson 46 not out.

By Peter Burrowes

Buy tickets now