Kent name 12 man squad to face Essex at The County Ground

Tuesday 8th May 2012

Men’s First Team

Kent name 12 man squad to face Essex at The County Ground

Kent have named a 12 man squadahead of theirLV= County Championship match against Essex at The County Ground on Wednesday 9th May.

Jimmy Adams’ resurgent side will be looking to emulate a rare double they achieved over Essex last season. In the opening round of championship matches, a hard-fought clash which saw Kent snatch a 57-run victory.

The two sides have identical records in four-day cricket, so far this season, having won one and drawn three of their four matches to date; the weather making it tough to force victories. Kent, however, are nine points and three places above Essex, in second place, due to their vast collection of bonus points. Derbyshire are the early season pacesetters at the top of the table.

Kent will be without in-form all-rounder Matt Coles. The fast bowler has been in scintillating form so far this season. He has already claimed 21 championship victims, scored his maiden first-class century and returned match winning figures of 6-32 in the Club’s CB40 opener against Yorkshire on Sunday. Coles is on duty with England Lions, who start their four-day Tour match against the West Indians at Northampton on Thursday.

Former Kent Cricket Academy Scholars Ivan Thomasand Fabian Cowdrey could be on course to make their first class debut for Kent in this match having been named in the 12 man squad.

Brendan Nash maintains his place in the squad, having been the star of the show for Kent as they played out a draw with Yorkshire at Canterbury. The left-hander’s unbeaten 132 led his team to 350-9, and an extra batting bonus point, before the rain took over.

A slightly improved weather forecast this week should allow for an intriguing game of cricket with both team’s looking to maintain their promotion aspirations.

Click here for the full Kent Cricket Match Preview

The full squad to face Essex will be:

Rob Key

Scott Newman

Ben Harmison

Brendan Nash

Mike Powell

Darren Stevens

Geraint Jones

James Tredwell

Mark Davies

Ivan Thomas

Charlie Shreck

Fabian Cowdrey

Match Reports will be available following close of play each day on the Kent Cricket website.

Photo: Sarah Ansell