Tredwell named in T20 World Cup squad

Thursday 16th January 2014

Men’s First Team

Tredwell named in T20 World Cup squad

Kent spinner, James Tredwell has been named in the provisional squad for the T20 World Cup in March.

The former Kent Cricket captain is among 30 in the initial squad, which will be halved to 15 following the T20 series against Australia.

The tournament starts in Bangladesh in March, with England in Group 1 with Sri Lanka, New Zealand and South Africa.

England have won one ICC World T20 title since the tournament began in 2007, beating Australia in 2010 in Barbados. In the 2012 tournament which was held in Sri Lanka, England reached the Super Eight stage with 14 players from that squad included in the provisional squad for the 2014 tournament.

England will face New Zealand, Sri Lanka, South Africa and a qualifier in Chittagong in the group stages of the 2014 competition. The squad will be halved to a final 15 man squad following the three match T20 series against Australia beginning on 29 January.

The following provisional 30-man squad has been announced for the ICC World T20:

Stuart Broad (Nottinghamshire) (Capt)

Moeen Ali (Worcestershire)

Jonathan Bairstow (Yorkshire)

Gary Ballance (Yorkshire)

Ravi Bopara (Essex)

Scott Borthwick (Durham)

Tim Bresnan (Yorkshire)

Danny Briggs (Hampshire)

Jos Buttler (Lancashire)

Michael Carberry (Hampshire)

Jade Dernbach (Surrey)

Steven Finn (Middlesex)

Harry Gurney (Nottinghamshire)

Alex Hales (Nottinghamshire)

Chris Jordan (Sussex)

Craig Kieswetter (Somerset)

Michael Lumb (Nottinghamshire)

Eoin Morgan (Middlesex)

Graham Onions (Durham)

Steven Parry (Lancashire)

Samit Patel (Nottinghamshire)

Kevin Pietersen (Surrey)

Boyd Rankin (Warwickshire)

Joe Root (Yorkshire)

Ben Stokes (Durham)

James Taylor (Nottinghamshire)

James Tredwell (Kent)

James Vince (Hampshire)

Chris Woakes (Warwickshire)

Luke Wright (Sussex)