Shepherd Neame Kent Cricket League 2018, week 13

Sunday 29th July 2018

Shepherd Neame Kent Cricket League 2018, week 13

Tunbridge Wells boosted their title credentials with a win against leaders Blackheath to close the gap at the top to just six points.

The table-toppers lost the league’s only unbeaten record of the season in a keenly-fought contest at The Nevill Ground.

Find your nearest Shepherd Neame pub >

Half-centuries from former Sussex all-rounder Christian Davis and Alex Williams helped the hosts to 275-8 after being invited to bat.

New-ball duo Jahid Ahmed and Tanweer Sikandar took two wickets each and Shahzaib Hassan picked up 3/53 for Blackheath.

In reply, several batsmen got start with Joe Kerridge (46) and Chris Willetts (34) providing the main resistance as wickets fell regularly.

Ari Karvelas was the pick of the home attack with 3/30 as Wells employed eight bowlers with five picking up wickets as they closed out a 57-run win.

Superb centuries from Regis Chakabva and Jordan Cox were the difference as third-ranked Sandwich Town ran out comfortable winners at home to Tenterden.

The Zimbabwe international and Kent Cricket Academy scholar put on 188 for the third wicket after the visitors reduced Town to 40-2 before the mammoth partnership,

Town’s middle order had a platform to attack and scored at more than a run a ball to reach 344-7 off 50 overs with the aid of 34 extras.

Tom Richards took 3/72 for Tenterden who could only muster 238-9 in reply with Justin Mosca top-scoring with 47.

Rory Smith claimed 3/32 and Ben Smith’s 2/34 restricted the visitors after early in-roads from Ashleigh Cox, Craig Spanton and Jan Gray on the way to a 116-run win.

Find your nearest Shepherd Neame pub >

Kent batsman Sean Dickson hit a fluent 90 to guide fourth-placed Lordswood to victory at Bickley Park.

The right-hander hit 12 fours as he shared stands of 60 with Linden Lockhart and 126 with Indian batsman Chaitanya Bishnoi (64*) to secure an eight-wicket win.

Earlier, a disciplined Lordswood attack restricted the hosts to 197-5 with former Kent scholars Chris Piesley and Jack Laraman bowling 10-over spells costing just 32 and 24 runs respectively. Allex Fullarton top-scored with 46 for the hosts.

Sevenoaks Vine beat Bexley in a low-scoring contest at home to maintain hopes of a late title tilt.

The hosts dismissed 2017 runners-up for just 115 as Miles Richardson (3/38) and Luke Schlemmer (3/4) were rampant as Chris Laas’ 30 was the top score in an under-par effort by Bexley.

The Vine made hard work of a modest chase of 116 with John Bowden’s 44 helping them home and Kent spinner Adam Riley claiming 1/22 in nine tidy overs.

Jason Benn and Harry Furze took two wickets each before Vine secured the points with 15.4 overs and four wickets to spare.

Find your nearest Shepherd Neame pub >

2017 champions Beckenham beat Bromley Common in the basement battle at Foxgrove Road.

The visitors, who stay bottom after their 11th defeat, won the toss and opted to bat first.

Common slipped to 17-3 after a run-out and two wickets for Will MacVicar (3/37) before skipper Leigh Walker and Sam Clarkson each scored 40 before William Chapples (71) helped them reach 215 all out.

Alex Blake pinch-hit 20 off 19 balls before Alex Senn (46) and MacVicar (59) added 104 for the second wicket to keep the hosts ahead of the required run rate.

Calum Lennox saw Beckenham home with a watchful 40 not out as they picked up their fifth win of the season to move six points from safety.

Find your nearest Shepherd Neame pub >